Founded in 1912, FASEB began with a small group of dedicated scientists, from three independent organizations, who wanted to provide a forum for educational meetings, develop publications, and disseminate results of biological research. Now the nation’s largest biomedical coalition, comprising 28 scientific societies and more than 115,000 researchers worldwide, FASEB is the recognized collective policy voice of biological and biomedical researchers. 

Building on more than a century of service to the life sciences community, FASEB

  • Represents 28 scientific societies and more than 115,000 researchers worldwide
  • Hosts an array of scientific conferences and events each year
  • Publishes the FASEB Journal, FASEB BioAdvances, and Washington Update
  • Works to ensure a diverse and representative workforce in the biological and biomedical sciences
  • Celebrates the efforts of those working to advance biological and biomedical sciences through an awards program
  • Provides career resources through job/resume postings, fellowships, and networking
  • Partners with affiliate organizations to advance awareness of biological and biomedical research

Our Mission  

We advance health and well-being by promoting research and education in biological and biomedical sciences through collaborative advocacy and service to our member societies and their members.

FASEB Staff and Board


Patricia L. Morris, MS, PhD

Kevin C. Kregel, PhD

Immediate Past President
Louis B. Justement, PhD

Vice President for Science Policy
Mary-Ann Bjornsti, PhD

Vice President-elect for Science Policy
Beth A. Garvy, PhD

Charles W. Frevert, DVM, ScD

CheriƩ L. Butts, PhD

Federation Secretary
Frank J. Krause Jr., MBA, CAE

Early-Career Representatives
Dennis Jones, PhD
Vijay P. Kale, MVSc, PhD, DABT, ERT

Board Members Representing FASEB Member Societies

American Association of Anatomists - AAA
Andrea Taylor, PhD

American Association of Immunologists - AAI
Beth A. Garvy, PhD

Association of Biomolecular Resource Facilities - ABRF
Nicholas Ambulos, PhD

American College of Sports Medicine - ACSM
Karyn Hamilton, PhD

American Federation for Medical Research - AFMR
Vijay Shivaswamy, MBBS

American Aging Association - AGE
Holly Brown-Borg, PhD

Association for Molecular Pathology - AMP
Betsy A. Bove, PhD

American Peptide Society - APEPS 
Philip E. Dawson, PhD

American Physiological Society - APS
Bill J. Yates, PhD

American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - ASBMB
Michael D. Schaller, PhD

American Society for Bone and Mineral Research - ASBMR
Brendan F. Boyce, MB ChB

American Society for Clinical Investigation - ASCI
Talat Alp Ikizler, MD

American Society for Investigative Pathology - ASIP
Charles A. Parkos, MD, PhD

American Society for Nutrition - ASN
Kelly A. Tappenden, PhD, RD, FASPEN

American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics - ASPET
Catherine Davis, PhD

Society for Birth Defect Research & Prevention - BDRP 
Christine Perdan Curran, PhD

Environmental Mutagenesis and Genomics Society - EMGS
Jeffrey L. Schwartz, PhD

Endocrine Society - ES
Diane (Didi) Robins, PhD

Genetics Society of American - GSA
Terry Magnuson, PhD

Histochemical Society - HCS
Robin Lorenz, MD, PhD

Society for Developmental Biology - SDB
Rachel Brewster, PhD

Society for Experimental Biology and Medicine - SEBM
Michael Lehman, PhD, FAAA

Society for Glycobiology - SfG
Pamela A. Marino, PhD

Society for Redox Biology and Medicine - SFRBM
Eric E. Kelley, PhD

Society for Leukocyte Biology - SLB
Lee-Ann Allen, PhD

Society of Toxicology - SOT
Michael Aschner, PhD

Society for the Study of Reproduction - SSR
Diane M. Duffy, PhD

US Human Proteome Organization - US HUPO
Rebekah L. Gundry, PhD

Executive Office

Frank J. Krause Jr., MBA, CAE
Executive Director

Sally Schwettmann, CAE
Director for Governance and Leadership Development

Financial Services

Julie Jones
Chief Financial Officer

Scientific Meetings and Conferences

Andrea Bauerfeind, CAE, CMP

Public Affairs 

Jennifer Zeitzer 

Science Policy

Yvette Seger, PhD 


Sybil Walker Barnes, CAE


Darla Henderson, PhD

Human Resources 

Susan Schiaffino, SHRN-CP