Excellence in Science Awards

For more than 30 years, FASEB’s Excellence in Science Awards have recognized excellence, innovation, leadership and mentorship of women whose research has contributed significantly to a particular discipline in biological science. The awards recognize achievements by these scientists at three different career stages:

  • Lifetime Achievement (established investigators)
  • Mid-Career Investigator (within 7-15 years of first independent scientist position)
  • Early-Career Investigator (within 7 years of first independent scientist position)

Women scientists who are current members of a FASEB Full Member Society are eligible for nomination. Nominators must also be a current member of a FASEB Full Member Society.

Award recipients will receive a cash prize and funds to present an Excellence in Science Award Lecture at the annual meeting of a FASEB member society of their choice. View past recipients.

Nominations for 2024 Excellence in Science Awards are due December 4, 2023.

Need More Information about the Excellence in Science Awards?
Additional information on eligibility, submission requirements, and nomination procedures may be found online here

2023 Award Recipients

Elaine S. Jaffe, MD, is recognized for her pioneering work in the fields of hematology and hematopathology. Over the past 50 years, her work has changed how the diagnosis of lymphoma is made worldwide. As Distinguished Investigator at the National Cancer Institute (NCI), she is the final arbiter for challenging diagnostic problems submitted to her from around the world, personally reviewing more than 2,000 cases annually.

The award also recognizes Jaffe as a devoted educator and mentor. She has been recognized numerous times for her excellent teaching in the clinical setting and the laboratory. She has spoken at almost every major meeting in pathology, hematology, and oncology. She consistently publishes with trainees as the first author of her manuscripts. Jaffe provides guidance to these trainees on how to perform clinical research and how high a bar is required to publish meaningful results. In 2001, she won NCI’s Outstanding Mentor Award, and in 2008 she received the Chugai Award for Excellence in Mentoring and Scholarship from the American Society for Investigative Pathology, a FASEB member society of which she is a member.

Paola Arlotta, PhD, Professor of Stem Cell and Regenerative Biology at Harvard University, is the recipient of the Mid-career Investigator Award. Arlotta has an impeccable track record of discovery in the complexities of the human brain, as well as mentorship and public engagement. “She is a caring, dedicated mentor who has never failed to put the growth and success of her trainees before her own achievements,” says Valentina Greco, PhD, Carolyn Walch Slayman Professor at Yale University, who nominated her for the award. 

The award recognizes Arlotta’s stellar track record as an eminent scientist who focuses on understanding the molecular laws that govern the birth, differentiation, and assembly of the human brain’s cerebral cortex.

In addition to her professorship at Harvard University, she is also a principal faculty member at the Harvard Stem Cell Institute, where she is co-leader of the neuroscience program; an institute member at the Broad Institute; and an associate member of the Stanley Center for Psychiatric Research at the Broad Institute.

Diana Libuda, PhD, Associate Professor of Biology at the University of Oregon Institute of Molecular Biology, is a creative young scientist who is making important contributions to the understanding of how DNA repair and recombination mechanisms ensure fidelity of genome inheritance during reproduction. The Early-career Investigator Award recognizes her innovative discoveries that have become an important focus in the meiosis field and genetics research, as well as her commitment to teaching and mentoring the next generation of scientists.